Mobile menu

Optimization of salt – sugar – fat

Reformulation of foods with reduced salt, fat, sugar levels, to combine nutritional recommendations and consumer acceptability

1. OBJECTIVE

Salt, sugar and fats which enter into the composition of foods are a source of disease if their consumption is excessive (hypertension, cardiovascular risk, diabetes, obesity ...). Also, the government recommended a substantial reduction in their consumption (Programme National Nutrition and Health, Obesity Plan, National Plan for Food). Manufacturers are thus led to reformulate their products to reduce levels of salt, sugar and fat (including changes in the nature of fat) while maintaining a good consumer acceptability. For several years the constituent teams Qualiment Carnot Institute conducted studies together or separately on the subject, however the results are often limited to either the study of one of the ingredients (salt, sugar or fat) is a science (nutrition, technology, safety, sensory perception, consumer acceptability, ...). It appears a need to conduct integrated multidisciplinary studies in partnership with industry. Qualiment teams have complementary skills to advance knowledge in this field and can offer either projects in partnership with industry on matters within their acquired skills, or research questions outside the partnership on fundamental aspects remain to deepen to remove the existing locks.

2. RESEARCH QUESTIONS PROPOSED PARTNERSHIP

The following topics may be of partnership with companies:

  • Study of food preferences, their training from childhood and their evolution in terms of internal and external factors
  • Reformulation of products from nutritional recommendations (less salt, sugar, fat, better nutritional quality of fat, taking into account the nature and the structure of the fat, the addition agent texture (type, incorporation mode), health problems caused by lower levels of salt and sugar, ...)
  • Food acceptability by consumers
  • Study of the diffusion of salt / sugar in foods and its transfer to saliva, depending on the structure of the food and the other ingredients in the composition (fat included)
  • Interactions flavor / matrix modification of the properties of retention / release of flavor molecules, interactions between macro-and micronutrients and vectorization, reformulation strategies taking into account the nutritional quality and consumer acceptability
  • Interactions between sensory modalities (smell, taste, texture), compensation strategies (salt / flavor, sugar / flavor)
  • Study of the health benefits of new formulations
  • Optimization of health effects: metabolic impact (skeletal muscle, bone, cartilage, cardiovascular, overweight ...)

 

3. EXPERTISE BY TEAMS

CSGA : Science Center Taste and Food

Molecular interactions (food-smelling saliva-) mechanisms in the mouth (chewing, saliva), release of flavor molecules (in vivo and in vitro), the perception of flavor, perceptual interactions (odor, flavor, aroma, flavor, aroma -flavor-texture), consumer (cohort studies: children, adults, elderly).

GMPA : Engineering and Microbiology of Food Process

Understanding the mechanisms of degradation of food in the mouth and in the upper part of the digestive tract and modeling release kinetics of the target compounds (sensory stimuli and nutrients).

QUAPA : Quality Pet Products

Process modeling in relation to food quality (refrigerating, drying, aging).

UNH : Human Nutrition Unit

Health effects, metabolic impact.

 

pdfICQualiment_Teneurs_reduites_en_sel_sucre_gras_site_web.pdf

jQuery(document).ready(function(e) { jQuery('img[usemap]').rwdImageMaps(); });

Mobile menu

Optimisation du sel – sucre – gras

Reformulation d'aliments à teneurs réduites en sel, gras, sucre, pour allier recommandations nutritionnelles et acceptabilité par le consommateur

1. OBJECTIF

Le sel, le sucre et les matières grasses qui entrent dans la composition des aliments sont source de pathologie si leur consommation est excessive (hypertension, risques cardiovasculaires, diabète, obésité...). Aussi, les pouvoirs publics recommandent une diminution conséquente de leur consommation (Programme National Nutrition Santé, Plan obésité, Plan National pour l'Alimentation). Les industriels sont ainsi amenés à reformuler leurs produits pour réduire les teneurs en sel, en sucre et en matière grasse (y compris modification de la nature de la matière grasse) tout en maintenant une bonne acceptabilité pour le consommateur. Depuis plusieurs années les équipes constitutives de l'Institut Carnot Qualiment ont mené des études en collaboration ou séparément sur ce thème, néanmoins les résultats obtenus sont souvent limités soit à l'étude d'un des ingrédients (sel, sucre ou matière grasse), soit à un domaine scientifique (nutrition, technologie, sécurité sanitaire, perception sensorielle, acceptabilité par le consommateur, ...). Il ressort un réel besoin de mener des études intégrées pluridisciplinaires en partenariat avec les industriels. Les équipes de Qualiment possèdent des compétences complémentaires pour faire progresser la connaissance dans ce domaine et peuvent proposer soit des projets en partenariat avec les industriels sur des questions relevant de leurs compétences acquises, soit des questions de recherche hors partenariat sur des aspects fondamentaux restant à approfondir pour lever les verrous existants.

2. QUESTIONS DE RECHERCHE PROPOSEES EN PARTENARIAT

Les thèmes suivants peuvent faire l'objet de partenariat avec les entreprises :

  • Etude des préférences alimentaires, de leur formation dès l'enfance et de leur évolution en fonction de facteurs internes et externes
  • Reformulation de produits à partir des recommandations nutritionnelles (moins de sel, de sucre, de gras, meilleure qualité nutritionnelle de la matière grasse, prise en compte de la nature et de la structure de la matière grasse, de l'ajout d'agent de texture (nature, mode d'incorporation), des problèmes sanitaires générés par la diminution des teneurs en sel et en sucre,...)
  • Acceptabilité des aliments par les consommateurs
  • Etude de la diffusion du sel/sucre dans les aliments et de son transfert vers la salive, en fonction de la structure de l'aliment et la composition dans les autres ingrédients (matière grasse incluse)
  • Interactions arômes/matrice, modification des propriétés de rétention/libération des molécules de la flaveur, interactions entre macro- et micronutriments et vectorisation, stratégies de reformulation prenant en compte les qualités nutritionnelles et l'acceptabilité par les consommateurs
  • Interactions entre modalités sensorielles (arôme, saveur, texture), stratégies de compensation (sel/arôme, sucre/arôme)
  • Etude des bénéfices santé de nouvelles formulations
  • Optimisation des effets santé : impact métabolique (muscle squelettique, os, cartilage, cardiovasculaire, surpoids...)

 

3. EXPERTISE PAR EQUIPES

CSGA : Centre des Sciences du Goût et de l'alimentation

Interactions moléculaires (aliment-odorants-salive), mécanismes en bouche (mastication, salive), libération des molécules de la flaveur (in vivo et in vitro), perception de la flaveur, interactions perceptives (odeur-odeur, arôme-saveur, arôme-saveur-texture), préférences des consommateurs (études sur cohortes : enfants, adultes, personnes âgées).

GMPA : Génie et Microbiologie des Procédés Alimentaires

Compréhension des mécanismes de dégradation des aliments en bouche et dans la partie haute du tube digestif et à la modélisation des cinétiques de libération des composés cibles (stimuli sensoriels et nutriments).

QUAPA : Qualité des Produits Animaux

Modélisation des procédés en relation avec la qualité des aliments (réfrigération, séchage, maturation).

UNH : Unité de Nutrition Humaine

Effets santé, impact métabolique.

 

pdfICQualiment_Teneurs_reduites_en_sel_sucre_gras_site_web.pdf

jQuery(document).ready(function(e) { jQuery('img[usemap]').rwdImageMaps(); });