Mobile menu

Sensory perception and behavior

1. OBJECTIVE

In the current context of developing diseases related to food, it is essential to identify how the objective characteristics of the products, especially the sensory characteristics are perceived by consumers and what are the mechanisms that lead consumers to seek or reject certain products because of their sensory characteristics.

In this line there is an interest in interindividual differences in sensory perception and the relationship between sensory perception and eating behavior. He is also studying the factors and mechanisms underlying these individual differences.

Some of these differences can originate at the peripheral level (genetic polymorphism). However, sensory and food preferences depend largely on food and sensory experiences. They also depend on the physiological and psycho-emotional context in which these experiences take place and their post-ingestive consequences. This has the consequence of large interindividual differences and changes during life and especially during childhood.

The results of such research will provide knowledge to devise rational manner satisfactory food different profiles of consumers while allowing everyone to have a healthy diet. A better understanding of the development and dynamics of preferences and eating habits will also be useful in terms of public policy, particularly in the establishment of recommendations to promote the consumption of certain food groups or to limit consumption of certain nutrients.

2. RESEARCH QUESTIONS PROPOSED IN PARTNERSHIP

The following topics may be of partnership with business :

  • Study of food preferences, their training from childhood and their evolution in terms of internal and external factors
  • Optimization of new food in terms of taste, health benefits and satiating power
  • Development of new tools and new methods for the acquisition and processing of sensory data, including the construction of databases, their meta-analysis and the development of statistical methods dedicated to specific sensory data
  • In general, any project involving sensory analysis that can lead to technological innovation in this field

 

3. EXPERTISE BY TEAMS

CSGA : Science Center Taste and food.
Consumer preferences (cohort studies: children, adults, elderly). Sensory Parenting. Development of tools and methods for sensory analysis. Sensory analysis techniques. Sensometrics. Eye tracking and pupilométrie.

GENIAL : Food Process Engineering
Sensory analysis and consumer behavior. Measurement of satiety.

GMPA : Engineering and Microbiology of Food Process.
Exploring the relationship between stimuli released during stages of disintegration of the food and its perception during consumption. Study of sensory interactions. Techniques temporal sensory analysis.

QUAPA : Quality Pet Products.
Physical chemistry of volatile compounds and search key compounds of the aromatic perception in brain imaging. Olfactometry.

PAM : Food and Microbiological Methods
Texture measurements. Sensory analysis of wine. Typicality of wines

Wellience : Food and Bio-Industrial
Industrial transfer. sensory analysis.

UNH : Human Nutrition Unit and CRNH: Centre for Human Nutrition Research
Monitoring of biological parameters

pdfICQualiment_Perception_senso_et_comportement_site_web.pdf

jQuery(document).ready(function(e) { jQuery('img[usemap]').rwdImageMaps(); });

Mobile menu

Perception sensorielle et comportement

1. OBJECTIF

Dans le contexte actuel de développement de pathologies en lien avec l'alimentation, il est fondamental d'identifier comment les caractéristiques objectives des produits, et en particulier les caractéristiques sensorielles, sont perçues par les consommateurs et quels sont les mécanismes qui conduisent les consommateurs à rechercher ou à rejeter certains produits en raison de leurs caractéristiques sensorielles.

Dans cet axe il s'agit de s'intéresser aux différences interindividuelles de perception sensorielle et au lien entre perception sensorielle et comportement alimentaire. Il s'agit également d'étudier les facteurs et les mécanismes à l'origine de ces différences interindividuelles.

Une partie de ces différences peut trouver son origine au niveau périphérique (polymorphisme génétique). Toutefois, les préférences sensorielles et alimentaires dépendent largement des expériences sensorielles et alimentaires. Elles dépendent également du contexte physiologique et psycho-affectif dans lequel ont lieu ces expériences et de leurs conséquences post-ingestives. Ceci a pour conséquence d'importantes différences interindividuelles et des évolutions au cours de la vie et en particulier au cours de l'enfance.

Les résultats de tels travaux permettront de fournir des connaissances pour concevoir de manière rationnelle des aliments satisfaisant différents profils de consommateurs tout en permettant à tous d'avoir un régime alimentaire sain. La meilleure compréhension du développement et de la dynamique des préférences et des comportements alimentaires sera également utile en termes de politique publique, en particulier au niveau de l'établissement de recommandations visant à favoriser la consommation de certains groupes d'aliments ou visant à limiter la consommation de certains nutriments.

2. QUESTIONS DE RECHERCHE PROPOSEES EN PARTENARIAT

Les thèmes suivants peuvent faire l'objet de partenariat avec les entreprises :

  • Etude des préférences alimentaires, de leur formation dès l'enfance et de leur évolution en fonction de facteurs internes et externes
  • Optimisation de nouveaux aliments en terme de goût, de bénéfice santé et de pouvoir satiétogène
  • Développement de nouveaux outils et de nouvelles méthodes pour l'acquisition et le traitement des données sensorielles incluant la construction de bases de données, leur méta-analyse et le développement de méthodes statistiques dédiées aux spécificités des données sensorielles
  • De manière générale, tout projet incluant de l'analyse sensorielle qui peut donner lieu à de l'innovation technologique dans ce domaine

 

3. EXPERTISE PAR EQUIPES

CSGA : Centre des Sciences du Goût et de l'alimentation.
Préférences des consommateurs (études sur cohortes : enfants, adultes, personnes âgées). Education sensorielle des enfants. Développement d'outils et de méthodes pour l'analyse sensorielle. Techniques d'analyse sensorielle. Sensométrie. Oculométrie et pupilométrie.

GENIAL : Ingénierie Procédés Aliments
Analyse sensorielle et comportement du consommateur. Mesure de satiété.

GMPA : Génie et Microbiologie des Procédés Alimentaires.
Etude des liens entre les stimuli libérés lors des étapes de déstructuration de l'aliment et sa perception au cours de la consommation. Etude des interactions sensorielles. Techniques d'analyse sensorielle temporelle.

QUAPA : Qualité des Produits Animaux.
Physico-chimie des composés volatils et recherche des composés clés de la perception aromatique en imagerie cérébrale. Olfactométrie.

PAM : Procédés Alimentaires et Microbiologiques
Mesures de texture. Analyse sensorielle du vin. Typicité des vins

Wellience : Agro- alimentaire et Bio-industriel
Transposition industrielle. Analyse sensorielle.

UNH : Unité de Nutrition Humaine et CRNH : Centre de Recherche en Nutrition Humaine
Suivi de paramètres biologiques

pdfICQualiment_Perception_senso_et_comportement_site_web.pdf

jQuery(document).ready(function(e) { jQuery('img[usemap]').rwdImageMaps(); });